I need some good rock music, another shower or two, beer, and a haircut

We have a long weekend coming up and none too soon. Labor Day is about all the American working class has left (not that we really use the word class on this side of the pond) and I’m damn sure going to take it.

Between my work with American Atheists, my work co-organizing Columbia Atheists, helping my wife take care of two boys, oh, and my job thing, I’m worn a little raw.

I need some good rock music, another shower or two, beer, and a haircut. I love all of those things except haircuts. Most of the stylists and barbers I know are pretty cool, it’s nothing to do with their profession. But you go and get a haircut and it’s never quite what you want, it’s always at least a little off. Of course there’s the occasional disastrous doo but those are pretty rare for a 41 year old guy with low expectations for what his hair should look like.

I think my main problem with haircuts (besides the fact that they don’t come and cut my hair as I drink a pilsner and watch Rockford Files) is that I need them to lop about 10-15 lbs off of the all of me and chisel my face into some kind of Redford McQueen mask. And so far I haven’t found the stylist to pull that off.

Forget the haircut. I'll just take a top hat and mutton chops.

Forget the haircut. I’ll just take a top hat and mutton chops.

Leave a Reply

