I’m thankful for…

It’s Thanksgiving here in the USA so I thought I’d blog a blog of gratefulness for a few of the people and things that help me get out of bed and do whatever the hell it is I do everyday.

I’m thankful for my wife. Katie is one of the kindest, most patient, level headed people I know. Her innate relative calm is a good compliment to my innate relative, uh, not-calm. She is kind to all and patient, with the kids, with me, and everyone she deals with. She is smart and capable and focused (she’s pretty too!). I’m fortunate to have her as a partner.

I’m thankful for my two boys H and A. H is 7 and A is 14 months old. They are both bright and curious kids. H loves superheroes and monsters, he loves to draw and make things (as I did when I was about his age) and he is outrageously skeptical and not afraid to call bullshit on any claim from anyone (which is awesome, except when it’s your bullshit he’s calling out). A is rambunctious and affectionate and into everything. It’ll be a lot of fun (and exhausting) to watch him turn into who he will be.

I’m thankful for our health, which is something I tend to take for granted (especially my own). I and my family are all doing okay right now as far as I know. We have two young children who are developing as they should be and their parents are doing alright (their Dad could stand to get into better condition and drop a few pounds, but not today).

I’m thankful for our parents and our siblings. Both my family and my wife’s family are great. They are there when we need them and they give us the room we need to do what we have to and to be who we are. We are surrounded by a lot of truly decent people, that’s pretty damned good.

I’m thankful that we are safe and situated ok. We all read of so much violence, people hurt or killed or displaced, families destroyed, whole communities torn apart. There are so many out there who do without, who don’t have what they need, or live in fear of today and tomorrow. While a certain amount of insecurity is part of being human (and I won’t say that we never experience any) I and my family are OK. We have food and clothes and a roof and entertainment and each other.

I’m thankful for the atheist community. For years I put a lot of thought into atheism and freethought for a few years now I’ve been able to put my time, my energy, myself into it as well. I have met so many truly beautiful people online and at conferences and events, I’ve had long discussions on the phone and email and chat. Many of my closest friends and people who inspire me and teach me, are people that I met in the large atheist community online and IRL.

I don’t think I need to point out that things aren’t always easy and there are heartbreaking moments. But there are also new friendships and understandings and people growing from their contact with each other. That’s a good thing to see. To my atheist friends, wherever you are in the world and in your life, whatever you call yourself, I’m thankful for you.

There are a million other things I could and maybe should list but I’m going to stop. I’m going to go be thankful for a traditional meal and a house full of good people now.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

