Metal Monday: Immortal forever

(This post is part of the weekly series Metal Monday)

One morning I posted on Facebook that I was listening to something or other and a fellow metal fan atheist FB friend of mine mentioned that he was listening to All Shall Fall by Immortal. “I must check that out,” said I to myself.

I moseyed over to YouTube and looked up the video to the title track and RAAAWWK! It was dark and melodic with at least a hint of wry.

I’ve picked up 4 Immortal albums to date: At The Heart Of Winter, Battles In The North, Pure Holocaust, and All Shall Fall. Out of these I probably listen to the last two the most.

I’ve also been able to watch their performance The Seventh Date of Blashyrk at the 2007 Wacken Open Air Festival a time or two. This performance has led me to dig Immortal as much as anything. They run their songs together into blocks, the playing is tight enough and very human, for some reason the driving fun of their music comes through for me more in this live performance. Singer/guitarist Abbath Doom Occulta also uses the terms fuck and motherfuckers in a charming manner.

Immortal has been around a long time with different lineups so one might get a different Immortal experience depending on what Immortal work they are currently immersed in, best to check out as many as possible. If you get a chance you might look up some of their videos (the “All Shall Fall” video is delicious), any live performances by the band, and definitely pick up an album or three if you haven’t already.

\m/

7 thoughts on “Metal Monday: Immortal forever

  1. Cool, I hope you like it. 🙂

    I know what you mean, I tend to get in a groove that can become a rut when it comes to music. I try to ask people what they are currently enjoying so I can try out new stuff. I’ve been listening to a lot of Death Metal lately: Amon Amarth, Devil Driver, Dethklok…

    Like

  2. Pingback: Metal Monday: Updates of doom and blackness | godlessgreg

Leave a Reply

