“The sitter is merely the accident, the occasion”

Looked down at my watch this morning for the date. “21” it said. I wrote 21 Oct ’14 in my notebook to begin my journal entry.

31 minus 21 is 10.

Hey, it’s 10 days till Halloween!

Last week I finished an old Mack Bolan trade paperback novel, “Running Hot.” I’ve read two of the books in that series which runs into the hundreds of titles written by numerous authors. This one was written by Don Pendleton, the character’s creator.

I had a tough time getting through the little book. The brusque description, the bloody action, were over the top. Maybe I wasn’t in the mood.

I haven’t started a new full length book since then, and lo and behold it’s 10 days till Halloween.

“Dracula.” I’ll reread Stoker’s great work.

No, why reread? There’s so much freely available I haven’t read.

I just started “The Picture of Dorian Gray” by Oscar Wilde. I’m familiar with the story but I’ve never read the entire work. It oughta be gothic enough for Halloween.

Are you reading anything for Halloween?

2 thoughts on ““The sitter is merely the accident, the occasion”

  1. I think I have “Dorian Gray” at home, and I do love the movie. Maybe I will start to read that, finally 🙂 Thanks for the idea!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

