New steel for shaving

Just finished my first safety razor #shave with my new #Merkur

The box was sitting in one of the chairs on the porch, the one right next to the heavy glass front door. I picked it up and looked at the label – Yes.

I’ve used a Sensor Excel razor/shaving system for the last few years. I like it. It’s familiar, I can pick it up and run through an entire shave without a thought.

But I wanted something special. I wanted a little more style. I decided I needed to refine and enhance my shave.

I purchased a safety razor.

I ordered a Merkur 34C with a straight guard from Clubman Online, it arrived yesterday. I’ve been interested in Pinaud products for ages (I picked up my first bottle of Pinaud-Clubman aftershave some time in the early 90s). I’ve ordered an array of aftershaves and other products from the Clubman Online shop (an independent dealer) over the years and have always been pleased with their service.

Last night I waited till our youngest was in bed. This project required my attention. I didn’t want to operate a new tool on my face while wondering what kind of property damage our toddler was administering in the adjoining room.

I took the elegant new razor out of the box and unwrapped the blade provided (I ordered additional blades from the same supplier). I tightened the blade into the razor and went to work.

I was careful, erring on the side of not wrecking the only mug I possess on my first safety razor drive. I was conscious to let the blade do the work and I was surprised at how effortless it was. On passes that I felt surely had removed nothing more than shaving cream my skin was as smooth as the proverbial baby’s butt.

I kept in mind that I didn’t need to clearcut my kisser on the first pass. I made one pass, then put a little more water and Barbasol on a couple of rough spots and revisited them. I didn’t want to keep going over my upper lip with the safety razor so I finished it off with my Sensor Excel.

My initial take is very positive. There’ll be a learning curve, I think after another shave or two I’ll have enough confidence to shave quickly and effectively. I think that once I get a good feel for the Merkur I’ll be able to hit every spot I want with less effort than I’ve put into shaving in the past. I like the feel of the heavier implement in my hand and on my face and I like the look of the big steel razor there by the sink or in my travel kit.

3 thoughts on “New steel for shaving

  1. I remember those from my grandfather’s house.

    One of the companies, Gilette or someone, sent the kidlet one for his 18th birthday. I am guessing the same mailing list used by military recruiters is also used by other companies.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Grandfather’s house sounds right, before disposable razors these were the thing. 🙂

      This is the first I’ve heard of companies sending out razors for people’s 18th birthdays. I guess they feel they can gin up enough brand loyalty to justify the outlay.

      Like

      • He had gotten the mail and came in glaring at me. He thought I had signed him up for it. Um, no. Just like us girls (TMI for delicate folk) would get maxi pad samples in the mail. I think the high schools supplement budget cuts with mailing list sales.

        Like

Leave a Reply

