breathe in, breathe out, repeat…

This morning I saw a photo of a beautiful woman lying naked in front of a roaring fireplace. I thought, “Man, that fire looks warm.” Either a sign of age or that winter’s coming, or both.

Since the election on Tuesday I’ve seen a number of my progressive type internet and IRL friends (I have internet and IRL friends with all kinds of different opinions, some crazier than the next, some in the same individual) stating that they’re moving, usually to Canada. I think I might start holding people to that. You say you’re leaving the country then I expect you to be across an international border in a reasonable amount of time, a few months should be sufficient.

Like most elections the returns were a mix of good news and bad. I’ll continue to breathe in and out. Sure, there are people that got elected that will do what they can to hurt others, there always are. There were statutes passed that will cause harm and statutes that didn’t pass that might have helped some folks, there’s always those too.

One issue that bothers me in our politics is the slowness of acceptance of LGBT rights. It’s only a matter of time I feel, but the time could be a lot shorter. I see LGBT rights as a separation issue. The fight for the rights of LGBT rights in the USA is a fight against Christianity. Christianity will lose this fight.

I was born in 1972 (you can do the math if you like). I grew up with the Soviet Union and the Berlin Wall as real things out there somewhere. If you’d told me when I was a teenager that they’d both be gone in a few years I would have laughed in your face. It’s been decades now since they fell.

Friendly reminder to everyone preschool age and older: wash your hands.

Take care,
Greg

2 thoughts on “breathe in, breathe out, repeat…

  1. Well put. I am a few years younger than you (well, five) and agree. I have hope that with the rest of our lives, my kid’s generation and the ones following we can allow rights for everyone AND keep working toward ending ignorance.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

