“Seems more appropriate than the Hood” *

Image from page 9 of "Report on revaluation of railroads and canals, New Jersey : 1911" (1912)

Had a parent – teacher conference this morning with H’s teacher. It was quick, which I take as a good sign. I think usually if there are a lot of things on the agenda at a parent – teacher conference the chances that those things are going to be all candy and balloons are pretty low. Brief is good.

My name is Oliver Queen. After five years on a hellish island, I have come home with only one goal- to save my city. But to do so, I can’t be the killer I once was. To honor my friend’s memory, I must be someone else. I must be something else.

I’ve been catching up on “Arrow” on Netflix. I’m on the second season, cruising toward the Netflix available finish line. The show is heavy on flashbacks, going back and forth between present day Star City and past events – an island, a shipwreck, an earthquake, past actions of the dead and of survivors. There is always more backstory it seems begging to come to light, people are seldom what they seem to be or what they once were.

It’s a superhero show so there has to be action and badassery but there’s tons and tons of character to character interaction and drama based on the past and upon concealed agendas. There’s a lot of soap opera in the show. I find myself waiting for the director to order up one of those shots, I forget what they’re called, where a character in the foreground speaks to a person in the background as both actors face the camera. It’s a classic soap trope, something that people don’t do in actual discussions.

That’s not to say I don’t like it, ‘cos I do. I’m not taking off points for the drama, that’s what makes it.

I’ve been watching this show at night after the kids are in bed and Katie is in the sunroom doing school work. I stay up watching these shows and writing, in my journal, or just crap. I’m doing this later and later into the night and it’s starting to be reflected back at me when I look in the morning mirror. I need someone to tell me to go to bed one of these nights. I wouldn’t listen to them though.

The image at the top of this post is there for no other reason than that I dig it. It’s “from page 9 of “Report on revaluation of railroads and canals, New Jersey : 1911” (1912). Click on the picture to go to the original link.

* post title from Arrow

Leave a Reply

