“Death Note,” “Nura: Rise of the Yokai Clan,” a little late night anime. I should already be in bed. But so much manga led to so much anime it would be downright disrespectful of me not to stay up just a little late and watch. Just a little.

I must be into the demons at the moment, The 2 series above both feature demons, well demons and gods of death. The demons and gods are interesting ones, in character and aesthetics. “Death Note” features a tight tense police chase, cat and mouse, killer, that is Kira, and genius detective. All this goes on as Ryuk, The death god that kicked it all off out of boredom, hangs out and tosses apples into his wide grin.

“Nura: Rise of the Yokai Clan”is all demons, demons of the night. Some are mischievous and naughty. Some are violent, evil, and highly interested in consuming human livers. Some traditionalists, some freethinkers, some handsome or pretty, some not. “Nura” also sports some of the beautiful cherry blossom, slow snow, sublime animation that drew me, and I’m sure so many to anime.

I’m nearing the end of “Samurai Champloo,” and my oldest boy is into “Dragon Ball Z Kai” which is airing on Toonami, why not add 2 more for fun?

