why on Earth would I block someone who just “wanted a discussion?”

They started contacting me on Facebook a long time ago, they wanted to discuss their political philosophy with atheists. I told them I wouldn’t host the discussion on my personal page. I told them they were welcome to bring it up in a group online (like this one perhaps) or to contact a physical group who may very well like to discuss it.

They’d show up now and again, bring it up, I’d give them the same answer.

Yesterday morning they started commenting on multiple posts of mine, pushing their subject. I finally messaged them with my usual answer – they continued. I asked them explicitly to stop, that’s when they accused me of dishonesty, that’s when I blocked them.

I didn’t block them because of their opinions. I didn’t block them because I haven’t thought about the things they want to talk about.

I blocked them because I’m not willing to have, or referee that conversation online, on my page at least, and after saying so numerous times, and finally asking them directly to stop hounding me, they refused.

I blocked them in response to their blatant disrespect and disregard for me. I only regret I didn’t do it sooner. 😛

